Welcome to Killer Reviews where you'll find tons of horror movie reviews, horror podcasts, news, interviews and more!

View RSS Feed

Gregory Lamberson

Working with Actors

Rate this Entry
Slime in My Eye #2: Working with Actors

http://www.slimeguy.com/

I love working with actors. I don’t know if the adage that “90% of directing is casting” is true, but it’s damned close. As a writer, I judge each actor by how he interprets the character and dialogue on the written page, as a director, I judge them based on what new qualities they bring to the material, and how they interact with their co-stars; and as a producer I worry primarily about what each person’s needs are in terms of scheduling, transportation, and housing.

I’ve been very fortunate to work with talented, collaborative actors on all four of my films, but never more so than on SLIME CITY MASSACRE, for which I cast not only many of the actors who starred in my previous films, but for the first time hired professional actors for key roles. SCM is playing on the horror convention and film festival circuit now, beginning with a screening on Saturday, August 28th, at Rue Morgue’s Festival of Fear, part of FanExpo Canada in Toronto. We’ve received several wonderful reviews for the film, but one thing I’ve noticed is that because there’s so much to discuss about it – its connection to horror films from the 1980s, the way it blends science fiction, horror and comic book tropes, and so on – is that few of the actors are singled out for their performances.