Sponsors: Alternative Cinema | Level 33 Entertainment | Shopping at Amazon? Click Here First!

View RSS Feed

Gronith

The History of Me as a Filmmaker

Rate this Entry

I am taking this opportunity to tell you a little about myself and the history of this project The Trespassers. My name is Grant Leon Smith I am a 32 year old Filmmaker from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. The Trespassers is my second Film.

Growing up in the 80's I learned to love movies via VHS tapes that I'd rent from small local shops and the convenience store. Movies at a young age were always attached to big events like birthdays. My family couldn't afford a VCR till the late 80's, so on my birthday I would get to rent a VCR machine and two VHS movies. My Dad would setup the VCR and my friends and I couldn't wait to press play. After pressing play it would be another ten minutes of trailers and adjusting the tracking so the picture was clear. To me though there is so much charm in these memories that they have never left me.

My predilection for action and horror movies started at a young age as well. Often my choices were Arnold Schwarzenegger, James Bond and Jason Voorhees. My Parents never censored anything from me. I was the kid in class wearing gory T-Shirts that'd never be allowed in today's protectionist world. I even wore one that said "Cop Killer" across the front with a gun pointed at you on the back. My first cassette was N.W.A. and the Posse, my first LP was Quiet Riot. My parents instead of telling me what I was seeing was fake did the opposite. I realized at a young age the real consequences of violence and what socioeconomic reasons lead to it.